Function of Department
The main duties of the County Treasurer's Office are:
- Collecting taxes
- Motor vehicles - registering and titling
- Renewing Kansas drivers' license
105 S. Kansas Avenue
Norton, KS 67654
Office phone :
Monday- Friday except holidays
How much will it cost to register my vehicle?
- Title Fees: $10
- Transfer Fees: $10.50
- Registration - Autos less than 4,500 pounds: $42.25
- Autos over 4,500 pounds: $52.25
- Trucks 12,000 pounds: $52.25
- Motorcycles: $28.25
- Motorbikes: $20
- 2,001 to 8000 pounds: $47.25
- 8001 to 12,000 pounds: $57.25
- 12,001 pounds and over: $67.25
Do I have to register my trailer?
If the weight of the trailer and the load combined is less than 2,000 pounds, registration is optional. If a farm trailer hauling the farmer's own product has a load of less than 6,000 pounds, registration is optional. Our office recommends tagging and titling upon initial purchase for proof of ownership. For fees on trucks with gross weight of over 16,000 pounds, call the County Treasurer's office at 785-743-2001.
When is my property tax paid?
Property tax is paid at the time of registration/title application and is determined in the County Treasurer's office. The exceptions are heavy trucks, trailers, and mopeds, whose taxes are determined by the County Appraiser's office.
How much is the reflectorized plate?
The reflectorized plate fee is $0.50.
Where do I pay sales tax if I purchased from an individual or out of state?
Sales tax will be collected in the office if the vehicle is bought from an individual, purchased out of state, or the sales tax paid to a dealer was less than the Trego County sales tax rate of 8%, or the city sales tax rate of 9%. There is a $0.50 collection fee.
What does it cost to transfer a tag?
The fee to title and transfer a tag is $20.50 plus the difference in the property tax. Lienholder fee is $1.50.
What forms of payment are accepted for tags?
Acceptable forms of payment are cash, check, credit or debit card, money order, and cashier's check. There is a 2.5% convenience fee if using a debit or credit card.
Do my tags expire on the first day or the last day of the month?
Auto, truck, and motorcycle tags expire on the last day of each month, with the exception of heavy trucks (over 12,000 pounds) and trailers, which expire December 31 with a grace period until the last day of February. Renewal Chart
Who is the Register of Deeds?
The Register of Deeds is an elected Official who makes certain that the documents are properly recording according to the laws of the State of Kansas and maintains those records.
May I make my own deed?
Yes, you could, but the Register of Deeds and staff always recommends the retention of an attorney or a title company. The Register of Deeds is a recording agency, and therefore, cannot make out dees or answer questions which pertain to legal matters.
Motor Vehicle Topics